Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 5th, 2007

happy-halloween.jpg
Happy Halloween! Uploaded on November 1, 2005 by Jason & Alyssa DeRusha

 

 

Halloween always makes me smile! I love to see the children in all their costumes, and every year the variety gets better and better. Thanks to the Internet, there are lots of places to go to find out everything you need to know to make your Halloween fun, memorable and safe. I’ll be dedicating all the Fridays in October to Halloween related fun!

Of course on Halloween candy is king! I remember vividly watching a Garfield Halloween special and Garfield’s favorite quote “Candy! Candy! Candy!” I was one of the lucky ones; my parents would let us gorge on about 4-5 candy bars on Halloween night. After that, they regulated our goodies because left in the hands of a child it would have been gone in a week. (Also I highly suspect they may have done a little taste-testing themselves.)

Though neither I nor my mother were very handy with a sewing machine, those plastic store-bought costumes were a highlight of my night! Sure the mask was itchy and it was hot under there – – but no one knew who I was. I could sneak up on my friends and freak them out. It was like having super powers!

So many wonderful memories arise at the mention of Halloween; parties and costumes, scary movies and popcorn, pumpkins and candy, and flashlights bobbing in the darkness. Haunted houses that were filled with aliens, vampires, mad scientists and werewolves made my heart thump. Spooky music filled the air and the slightest creaks and bumps took on significant meaning.

In anticipation of the upcoming Halloween season, here are some great web sites to check out for some creative ideas:

Top 10 R-rated movies from Reader’s Digest, and Top 10 Family-Friendly Halloween Movies.

Haunted Houses by state.

Halloween cartoons

And a few reminders for Halloween safety.

Lastly, this wonderful idea for free Halloween costumes for those in need. What a fantastic idea posted by 365halloween.com.

Happy Halloween Everyone!!

 

Read Full Post »